The immigration tricks

The girls register their names at trendy upmarket bars in Saigon or Hanoi.

The girls register their names at trendy upmarket bars in Saigon or Hanoi.

<<Facts, pictures, video clips related to the story – marriages between children of Vietnamese high-ranking Communist Officials and overseas Vietnamese>>

Comments about this post on ABC Open 500 words – Right here, right now.

It’s Saturday morning and as my sons are older now, their soccer matches start late in the afternoon so I have more time to sleep in. As my children are growing into independent and capable adults, I find that I have more time to myself to spend on news, emails, Facebook and writing yet compared to ten years ago, I cannot do much after work and at the weekends as my physical and emotional energy are declining on the path of life.

I read a piece of writing titled “Ha Noi’s wind” that my father forwarded to me by email. It is written by a renowned Vietnamese poem and writer in America – Tran Mong Tu – after her trip back to Vietnam. Tu was told by her relatives in Vietnam of the tricks the daughters of wealthy communist officials used to trap ignorant young overseas-born Vietnamese. Those girls register their names at trendy upmarket bars in Saigon or Hanoi. As soon as the owners sight a group of young overseas Vietnamese men who seem to be intelligent, elegant, handsome, and who spend money generously, they ring the girls and remove the unremarkable-looking lowly dressed waitresses. The registered girls who are courteous and educated then chat up the men and invite them home to spend the night there. Their homes are usually mansions, with expensive cars like Audi, BMW,.. and with a chauffeur. The men then are introduced to their warmly welcoming parents who are all high-ranking communist officials.

The girls are obedient and easily yielded to the men’s wishes. They always give the men the impression that “I don’t need your money!”, “I don’t like to live in America!”, and that they are “special” girls not like what the men usually hear about Vietnamese girls living in Vietnam. There is a big chance that the men could build relationships with those girls which later would lead to marriage and that also would mean that the girls would possess American citizenship.

I know of stories where Vietnamese tour guides – who must have a good communist family resume to get the job – married overseas Vietnamese but the story Tu wrote horrified me. My son may want to revisit Vietnam on his own or with his friends in the future. I immediately send my eldest son the email hoping he would read it. My son is at an age when he thinks he’s smarter than his parents yet he hasn’t learned much about the Vietnamese Communists.

After reading my emails, the high school Facebook group news feed catches my attention with the news of an old History teacher’s death and a friend in Vietnam in need of money which was collected from the group and sent to him for his heart operation and pictures of a recent whole high school reunion in Saigon. I see old faces of the dear and the hated. This group which was created by overseas Vietnamese is an open group and serves mutual interests. The rich and healthy who are the police, custom officials, high-ranking Northerner communist party members, … join to connect with old friends to seek accommodation for their children to study overseas. Overseas Vietnamese who hope that Vietnam will make their business or arts thrive and thus want to have long-termed protection from those old classmates’ mighty communist power also find some benefits.

Seeing those Communists reminded me of the time I lived in fear under communism. I think I have had enough emotional storm inside me for the day. I hope I don’t have to struggle to sleep well tonight. Maybe I need to leave the high school Facebook group!

Love’s free giving,
Love’s free coming,
Life is rosy.

On one normal night,
They came within sight,
Of the owners.
Owners ring alright,
To the girls’ delight,
Come the actors!

Girls try trapping,
Men on loving,
The air’s balmy.
Love’s free giving,
Love’s free coming,
Life is rosy.

Those naive young men,
Who seduced right then,
Go to their homes.
See the rich hens’ den,
Minds are round the bend,
The men’s hearts roam.

Cheat’s head spinning,
Sex is selling,
Truth is tawdry.
Love’s free giving,
Love’s free coming,
Life is rosy.

Once having green cards,
Then girls want to part,
Trick is brazen.
Men’s hearts are now scarred,
Men are now discards,
Love is rotten.

Pain’s deep throbbing,
Pain’s hard coming,
Love is eerie.
Love’s free giving,
Love’s free coming,
Life is rosy.

(Virelai-style poem)

Image credit
by Pulpolux.

<<Facts, pictures, video clips related to the story – marriages between children of Vietnamese high-ranking Communist Officials and overseas Vietnamese>>

The girls register their names at trendy upmarkeHanos in Saigon or Hanoi.

The girls register their names at trendy upmarket bars in Saigon or Hanoi.

Please leave a Reply for the above post written by hiMe

