Always a Gentleman

Oh my Irvine, your eyes were a pool of sadness and self-sacrifice. . . always a gentleman.

Oh my Irvine, your eyes were a pool of sadness and self-sacrifice. . . always a gentleman.

Comments about this post on ABC Open 500 words – Caught out.

I easily fall in love with handsome men. Those gentlemen who aren’t handsome are often in my romantic dreams too!

Inside me there’s an ingrained picture of a gentleman who is always protective and supportive of a girl. My heart fills with love and admiration for the gentlemen of my university time whenever I recall what happened thirty years ago.

It was exam time and I was unable to answer a few questions. I tried to signal Edward my classmate sitting next to me. Edward realised I needed help so he tried to move his exam papers nearer to the edge of his desk for me to glance at.

Yet I still couldn’t read from his papers!

The examination supervisor kept looking and moving around the room. For a long time, Edward was having problem writing on his slanting papers and was struggling in his uncomfortable sitting posture too. Hopeless but I felt thankful for the helpful gentleman Edward had been!

My eyes darted out of the classroom and I could see Irvine standing near the door. Irvine was also in my first year Civil Engineering class and he had finished his exam earlier. I looked at him for rescue. He understood me and we began silent speaking to each other.

Irvine gestured for me not to worry and with a big grin he disappeared. He later hid behind the door out of the supervisor’s sight and threw me a piece of paper rolled up like a cigarette. Unfortunately, the supervisor caught the sight of the paper landed near my desk. Horrified, I hurriedly pretended to look down at my exam papers but Irvine wasn’t so quick to run and was caught when the supervisor stepped out of the room.

Oh my dear Irvine, I could never forget his long and pale face of the moment. His eyes were wide-opened and full of shock.

His towering stature against the short frame of the supervisor was so in contrast to the defeated situation. He heavily dragged his feet along the floor following the supervisor into the exam room.

Every student in the room was interrupted by the voice of the supervisor: “Did you throw this?” Irvine sadly nodded his head to admit his guilt.

I was so afraid to be identified as the intended recipient, I could hardly breathe and my hands were sweating and shaken.

The supervisor asked again: “Who is it for?” but my Irvine just looked at her and bravely refused to answer.

Oh my Irvine, your eyes were a pool of sadness and self-sacrifice.

I pretended as if I wasn’t involved in the situation and put on an innocent face yet my heart ached with pain for Irvine. Irvine was told to get out of the room and his name jotted down.

I later heard that Irvine got zero point for his exam papers as a punishment! When seeing him again Irvine smiled to me and said not to worry as he would do the exam again.

Oh my Irvine, my heart still aches with pain for being silent.

Image credit
by Esther Simpson.

Oh my Irvine, your eyes were a pool of sadness and self-sacrifice. . . always a gentleman.

Oh my Irvine, your eyes were a pool of sadness and self-sacrifice. . . always a gentleman.

Please leave a Reply for the above post written by hiMe

